Sunday, January 08, 2006

BoS Re-Org Meeting & Interviews 1/3/06


This evening's schedule began at 5:30 PM with candidate interviews for the three Planning Commission vacancies. A total of seven candidates submitted letters of interest to the Board and of them, six were interviewed. The seventh, Vito Tamborrino, went on record at the last Board meeting announcing that the request for an interview was "insulting." He was not interviewed. The other incumbent, John Castrovinci, Principal at Forks Elementary School, apparently had no issue with the process and took part willingly.

Those interviewed possess very impressive backgrounds. One is an archeologist who has spent the last 25 years of his career as a cultural resource manager working with planners and engineers. Another has years of experience serving on school boards in neighboring NJ. Still another is a small business owner and Delaware River Keeper. Another is a civil engineer who is involved in the planning aspects of government; his specialty is sewer and water, and in particular, storm-water. And, yet another is a chemical engineer with an MBA in Finance, Accounting, and Strategy!

They are indeed an exceptionally well qualified group of candidates. Most were asked if they would consider the position on the Zoning Hearing Board if not selected for the Planning Commission and most said that they would. One additional person applied only for the Zoning Hearing Board and was also interviewed.

Henning Holmgaard, former Supervisor whose term expired 12/31/05, was interviewed for the Vacancy Board slot. Alex Banas, incumbent and candidate for the Recreation Board did not attend.

After the interviews, the Board discussed the candidates (in public view - but not in earshot) amongst themselves. They met informally in the front of the room behind the meeting table.

At 7:00 PM President Judge Robert A. Freedberg officiated at the swearing-in of our newest elected officials, Supervisor C. David Howell, Elected Auditor James Craig, and Tax Collector June Vail.


Immediately after the swearing-in ceremony the Board of Supervisors held their annual Re-Organization Meeting. They began with an EXECUTIVE SESSION to discuss a personnel matter. No action was taken and the meeting resumed.

Normally they convene, nominate and elect Board officers, and then vote on other municipal appointments. This year though, they were unable to agree on who should be Board Chairperson. Sarah Mausolf from the Express Times and Joe Nixon from the Morning Call were there. Their articles tell it all! Please read them both.

First Nicholas nominated Ackerman for Chairman, then Hoff nominated Miller. Ackerman got two votes, his own and Nicholas’. Miller got two votes, Hoff’s and Howell’s. Miller, true to his past actions, would not vote for himself. So... yes, it went on like that for a while. Howell nominated Hoff, Miller and Howell voted for him. Hoff wouldn’t vote for himself. Howell suggested a recess. Hoff nominated Howell - it died for lack of a second. No one else nominated anyone and Solicitor Kline noted that Ackerman would have to finish the meeting as Chairman (and act as such until a new Chairman is elected) in order for the meeting to continue.

Nicholas then nominated Miller as Vice Chairman, Ackerman and Nicholas voted for him and Hoff opposed with two abstentions (Howell and Miller.) Then Hoff nominated Howell. Howell won 5:0.

PNC Bank and PLGIT were voted in as depositories of Forks Township.

All of the (successful) elections and appointments were unanimous except one, Township Manager. Here’s how it came out:

Chairman - NONE elected (almost all Supervisors were nominated at one point or another and not one got more than two votes)
Vice Chairman - C. David Howell
Township Manager - Cathy Kichline (3:2 with Supervisors Ackerman and Nicholas casting the "no" votes)
Solicitor - Karl Kline ($120.00/hr)
Township Engineer - Keystone Consulting Engineers ($84.00)
Auditor(s) - France, Anderson, Basile & Company, P.C.
Earned Income and E.M.S. Tax Collector - Mary Ann Kessler
Assistant Collector - Anne Bennett-Morse
Mercantile Tas Collector - Sandi Rossi

The 2006 meeting schedules for the Board and for the Planning Commission were set also. The BoS will meet on the 1st & 3rd Thursdays of the month at 7:30 PM with a possible 3rd meeting (if necessary) on the 4th Thursday. Thirty or sixty minute workshops may be scheduled before or immediately after the regular meetings. The Planning Commission will meet on the 2nd Thursday at 7:30 PM and their workshop sessions, which will be treated in the same manner as regular meetings, are set for the 4th Tuesday of the month at 7:00 PM.

PEMA’s Emergency Operations Plan was adopted.

More Appointments:

Emergency Management Coordinator - Tim Weis
Assistant Emergency Management Coordinators - Greg Dorney & Cathy Kichline
The Board voted to approve payment of routine bills that may have penalties or interest if they are not paid before the next BoS meeting. The Municipal Building's daily hours (open the public) were set at 7:30-4:30 PM Monday through Friday. Office employees’ hours range between 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Hours for the Director of Public Works can vary from the standard hours.

Yet More Appointments:

Vacancy Board - Henning Holmgaard (1 year term)
Planning Commission - Carl Dicker (unexpired term 2007)
Planning Commission - John Castrovinci (incumbent - 4 year term)
Planning Commission - Vito Tamborrino (incumbent - 4 year term - 3:2 vote with Howell and Nicholas voting "no")
Zoning Hearing Board - Ron Asteak (unexpired term 2007)
Recreation Board - Alex Banas (5 yr term)
Secretary/Treasurer of the General Fund and Office liaison - David Hoff
Assistant Secretary/Treasurer of the Gen. Fund - Cathy Kichline
Department of Public Works liaison - John Ackerman
Police liaison - Bonnie Nicholas
Recreation Department liaison - Donald Miller
Fire Department liaison - C. David Howell
Fire Chief - Tim Weis (also Fire Marshall)
Deputy Fire Chief - Ackerman said that "we are going to hold off"
Zoning Enforcement Officer & Plumbing & Building Inspector - Tim Weis
Flood Plain Permit Officer - Chris Noll (and alternate Fred Hay) - Keystone Consulting Engineers
Assistant Zoning Officers - Loretta Fuehrer & Matt Miller
Sewage Enforcement Officer - Chris Noll (sic) with Fred Hay as alternate, Keystone Consulting Engineers
Electrical Inspectors - David Shields (sic), Keystone Electrical Inspectors

The Wages & Benefits Packages of the Collective Bargaining Unit for police and non-uniform was accepted and the Re-Organization Meeting was adjourned.


The regular meeting was very short. There were no REPORTS, no DEBITS AND TRANSFERS, no COMMENTS FROM THE FLOOR (NOT AGENDA ITEMS) and no NEW OR OLD BUSINESS. There was a Penn State football game though. So after the approval of the revised Minutes (4:0 with 1 abstention by Hoff who was not at that meeting) from the 12/15/05 meeting, this meeting was adjourned.

Our objective is to relate what is experienced at Forks Township meetings for those who cannot attend. We are attempting to be as factual as we can. If we make a mistake, tell us via email or COMMENT here in the blog, and we will do our best to correct it. We are not perfect. We want to get it right.

No comments: