Sunday, January 09, 2005

BoS Re-Organizational Meeting 1/3/05

Monday night at 7 PM the Board of Supervisors held their annual reorganization meeting. This happens every year. They convene and nominate officers and vote on other appointments. Supervisor Hoff was on vacation and not in attendance. The list of selections made is a long one and because the microphones were not always closest to the speakers, we could not HEAR all of the names. All of the appointments were unanimous except one, Township Manager. The ones that we could hear are:

  • Chairman = John Ackerman
  • Vice Chairman = Don Miller
  • Township Manager = Cathy Kichline (3:1, Supervisor Nicholas cast the nay vote)
  • Solicitor = Karl Kline ($115.00/hr)
  • Township Engineer = Keystone Consulting Engineers ($68.50/hour)
  • Sewer Department Engineer = Keystone Consulting Engineers
  • Auditor(s) = France, Anderson, Basile & Company, P.C.
  • E.I.T., Mercantile, and Municipal Tax Collector = Mary Ann Kessler
  • Assistant Collector = Sharon Fisher

The 2005 meeting schedules for the Board and for the Planning Commission were set also. The BoS will meet on the 1st & 3rd Thursdays of the month at 7:30 PM with a possible 3rd meeting (if necessary) on the 4th Thursday. Thirty minute workshops may be scheduled before or after the regular meetings. The Planning Commission will meet on the 2nd Thursday at 7:30 PM and their workshop sessions, which will be treated in the same manner as regular meetings, are set for the 4th Tuesday of the month at 7:00 PM.

More Appointments:

  • Emergency Management Coordinator = Tim Weis
  • Assistant Emergency Management Coordinators = Greg Dorney & Cathy Kichline

The Board voted to approve payment of routine bills that may have penalties or interest if they are not paid before the next BoS meeting. The Municipal Building's daily hours (open the public) were set at 7:30-4:30 PM Monday through Friday. Hours for the Director of Public Works can vary from the standard hours.

Yet More Appointments:

  • Vacancy Board = Morris Metz
  • Planning Commission = Les Ottenwalder (4 yr term)
  • Zoning Hearing Board = John Pappas (5 yr term)
  • Sewer Authority = Bonnie Nicholas (5 yr term)
  • Recreation Board = Ray Duffy (sic), for expiring term
  • Recreation Board = Dan Reiter (5 yr term)
  • Secretary/Treasurer of the General Fund = Dave Hoff (check signing privileges)
  • Assistant Secretary/Treasure of the Gen. Fund = Cathy Kichline
  • Secretary/Treasure of the Sanitary Sewer Revenue Fund = Bonnie Nicholas
  • Assistant Secretary/Treasure of the Sanitary Sewer Fund = Cathy Kichline
  • Road liaison = John Ackerman
  • Police liaison = Henning Holmgaard
  • Fire Department liaison = Dave Hoff
  • Fire Chief = Tim Weis (also Fire Marshall) - A question (from the floor) was raised about this possibly being a conflict of interest since Mr. Weis will be paid for his other job while being out on a fire call. Solicitor Kline stated that it was not open to discussion from the floor.
  • Deputy Fire Chief = Bryan Weis
  • Zoning Enforcement Officer & Plumbing & Building Inspector = Tim Weis
  • Assistant Zoning Officers = Loretta Fuehrer & Matt Miller
  • Sewage Enforcement Officer = Chris Nolte (sic), Keystone Consulting Engineers
  • Electrical Inspectors = Keystone Electrical Inspectors

The Wages & Benefits Package of the Collective Bargaining Unit was accepted and the meeting was adjourned.

Our objective is to relate what is experienced at Forks Township meetings for those who cannot attend. We are attempting to be as factual as we can. If we make a mistake, tell us via email or Comment here in the blog, and we will do our best to correct it. We are not perfect. We want to get it right.

No comments: